There is always hope…


Here is an image I came across in one of the buildings on campus. It features a girl reaching for a balloon with the words "THERE IS ALWAYS HOPE". I assume this is an ode to the elusive street artist Banksy, who originally put it up in the streets of London.

I originally viewed the image and quote encouraging and positively, not realizing that it has so many meanings and emotions attached to it. Are the things you hope for unreachable? Just out of grasp like the heart shaped balloon? Or so close, and something you always can count on to have and reach towards?

The art brings up an interesting discussion, and feel free to leave your comments on it below.

5 thoughts on “There is always hope…

  1. Sounds like a glass-half-empty/glass-half-full type of philosophical discussion.

    Personally, I’ve always been on the optimists’ side, that no matter how unreachable that balloon may seem, as long as I keep it in sight, there’s always the possibility I’ll catch it. I often go so far as to believe that even if it floats way up to the heavens, completely out of sight, if I keep looking up, keep on reaching, keep walking towards where I saw it go, sooner or later it will come back down to where I can reach for it again… and this time maybe I’ll catch it!

    But if I give it up as unreachable, put my head down and plod on with no direction or attempt at catching sight of it again, then there’s no way I’ll be able to ever grasp it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

